Photo detail

From left: Navajo Nation Council Speaker LoRenzo Bates, Vice President Jonathan Nez, President Russell Begaye and Chief Justice JoAnn Jayne sign a proclamation Feb. 9 declaring 2018 as the Year of the Treaty. (Submitted photo)

Stories this photo appears in:

Tease photo

Navajo Nation commemorates 150th anniversary of 1868 treaty

The Navajo Nation has officially kicked off the Year of the Treaty (Naaltsoos Sáni’), a year-long commemoration of the forced exile of the Diné People, their incarceration at Hwéeldi, the Treaty of 1868 and their triumphant return to Diné Bikéyah.