Photo detail

Members of the Navajo Language Assessment Committee: Back row (L to R): Edmund Lano, Herbert Frazier, Nancy Benally, Carol Yazzie, Janice Montoya, Lena Benally-Smith and Roselyn Sandoval; Center row: Carmen Moffett, Sandra Freeland, Teresa Howard, Patrick Werito, Marilyn Deal, Carmen Clark and Rhonda Barbone; Front row: Delores Noble, Catherine Begay, Louise Benally, Arlene Loretto, Marie Tapaha, Bernice Casaus and Arlene Romero (Courtesy photo).

Stories this photo appears in:

Tease photo

Navajo language assessment testing to occur in elementary schools

SANTA FE, N.M. - The New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED) Indian Education Division and the Navajo Nation's Office of Dine Culture, Language, and Community Services (ODCLCS) are collaborating with seven public school districts in New Mexico to pilot a recently developed Navajo Language Assessment to determine mastery levels of Navajo language.