Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Tue, June 02

Navajo Nation recognizes police officers

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. — Navajo Nation President Jonathan Nez and Vice President Myron Lizer recognized police officers including those who have given the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty, and recognized “Navajo Nation Police Officer Day” May 10.

“Our Navajo police officers serve and protect our communities day after day and we have several that have given their lives to protect our Diné people,” Nez said. “We are very grateful to them and their families for all of their sacrifices. Vice President Myron Lizer and I keep them in our thoughts and prayers each day.”

Nez and Lizer acknowledged that the Navajo Nation remains in need of more police officers, but they also commended Navajo Nation Division of Public Safety Executive Director Jesse Delmar and Police Chief Phillip Francisco for recruiting more police officer candidates and increasing the number of officers in recent years.

The Officer Down Memorial Page lists 14 fallen Navajo officers, which include the following:

Houston James Largo; LeAnder Frank; Alex K. Yazzie; Ernest Jesus Montoya, Sr.; Darrell Cervandez Curley; Winsonfred A. Filfred; Esther Todecheene; Samuel Anthony Redhouse; Hoskie Allen Gene; Andy Begay; Roy Lee Stanley; Loren Whitehat; Burton Begay and Hoska Thompson

“We ask all of our Diné people to pay tribute to these individuals and thank them for giving their lives for all of us,” Nez said.

Information provided by Office of President and Vice President

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event