Petranovich announces football schedules

First varsity scrimmage on Friday in Camp Verde

WINSLOW, Ariz. - Winslow High School Athletic Director Don Petranovich has announced the schedules for the varsity, freshman and junior varsity football teams. The varsity was to meet Camp Verde in a controlled scrimmage at Camp Verde on Friday, Aug. 17. It is likely that some junior varsity and even some freshmen players could see action in the controlled scrimmage.

The varsity will open its season at Sedona against the Sedona Red Rock Scorpions on Friday, Sept. 24 at 7 p.m. All varsity games have 7 p.m. kickoff times.

All three teams will be in action the next week when the freshmen play Show Low at Show Low at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 30 while the junior varsity is entertaining Holbrook at 6 p.m. at Emil Nasser Stadium. The varsity will host Holbrook at 7 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31.

All three teams play Flagstaff the next week with the freshmen and junior varsity playing at Flagstaff on Thursday, Sept. 6 at 4:30 and 6 p.m. and the varsities playing at Winslow on Friday.

The freshmen will play Coconino at Winslow at 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 13 while the junior varsity hosts Ganado after that game at 6:30 p.m. The varsity will pay at Ganado on Friday, Sept. 14.

On Wednesday, Sept. 19, the freshmen will play Blue Ridge at Blue Ridge at 4 p.m. while the junior varsity will play Chinle at Chinle at 5 p.m. that same day. The varsity will host Chinle in its Homecoming Game on Friday, Sept. 21.

Snowflake teams will be the opposition the next week with the freshman team and junior varsity teams playing at Snowflake on Thursday, Sept. 27 at 4:30 and 6:30 p.m. respectfully and the varsity playing at Winslow on Friday, Sept. 28.

Show Low is the opposition for all three teams the next week with the freshman and junior varsity teams playing in Winslow on Thursday, Oct. 4 at 4:30 and 6:30 p.m. the varsity game will be in Show Low on Friday, Oct. 5.

Coconino will be the opponents the next week with the freshmen and junior varsity teams playing at Coconino on Thursday, Oct. 11 at 4; 30 and 6:30 p.m. The varsity game will be in Winslow on Friday, Oct. 12.

On Wednesday, Oct. 17 the Winslow freshman team will play St. Johns at St. Johns at 4:30p.m. On Friday, Oct. 19 the varsity will play Monument Valley on senior Night in Winslow at 7 p.m. On Saturday, Oct. 20 the junior varsity will play Monument Valley at Kayenta at 11 a.m.

Blue Ridge will be the opponents for all three squads in the final regular season games. On Thursday, Oct. 2 the freshman and junior varsity teams will host Blue Ridge at 4:30 and 6:30 p.m. The varsity will play Blue Ridge at Pinetop on Friday, Oct. 26,

The varsity will enter the playoffs following the end of the regular season if they qualify. Playoff schedules will be announced once participants are determined.

Comments

Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.