Hopi High holds sports award banquet

Stan Bindell/NHO<br>
Christen Ben and Kaitlin Billy were all smiles while getting awards at sports banquet.

Stan Bindell/NHO<br> Christen Ben and Kaitlin Billy were all smiles while getting awards at sports banquet.

POLACCA, Ariz. - Christen Ben, Kaitlin Billy and Randi Lomayestewa were dubbed "the beauty queens" throughout the Hopi High girls cross country season because they were fixing their hair before the meets.

That must have worked as they helped lead Hopi High girls to another state championship.

On Nov. 15, Hopi High held their sports banquet and the following awards were handed out:

Junior varsity cross country girls: Shynell Begay, Smiles A Lot Award; Stephanie Lamson, Among The Trees Award; Clanessia Lucas, Most Determined Award; Jennifer Lomayaktewa, Most Dedicated Award; Lucinda Tungovia, Captain Award; and Onaneilda Begay, Scholar Athlete Award.

Varsity girls cross country: Jasmine Humetewa, Award; Randi Lomayestewa, Most Improved Runner Award; Christen Ben, Coach Sieweyumptewa Award; Charmayne Nelson, Running With Bulls Award; Claryn Josytewa, Coal To Diamond Award; and Kaitlin Billy, Scholar Athlete Award.

Junior varsity boys cross country: Kelan Poleahla, Most Dedicated Runner Award; Sheldon Nanacasia, Most Improved Runner Award; Adam Laban, Outstanding Runner Award; Lamon Barehand, Most Dedicated Runner Award; Roy Jackson Jr., No Shirt Award; and Sheldon Nanacasia, Scholar Athlete Award.

Varsity boys cross country: Ma Cray Huma, Most Valuable Runner Award; Dominic Sinquah, Most Valuable Runner Award; Kelan Poleahla, Most Improved Runner Award; Kaedin Mooya, Most Dedicated Runner Award; Kelsey Jones, No Shirt Award; and Stephan Tootsie, Scholar Athlete Award.

Junior varsity football: Andre Wytewa-Panana, Defensive Player Award; Isidor Abeita Jr., Linemen Of The Year Award; Dylan Ami. Offensive Player Award; Chandler Benally, Most Improved Player Award; Brent Nahsonhoya, Bruin Spirit Award; Dylan Ami, Scholar Athlete Award; and Grant Pashano, Scholar Athlete Award.

Varsity football: Blake Sekaquaptewa, Most Valuable Player Award; Allen Joshevama, Offensive Player Award; Dion Sahneyah, Defensive Player Award; Blake Sekaquaptewa, Special Teams Award; Keith David, Bruin Award; and Blake Sekaquaptewa, Scholar Athlete Award.

Junior varsity volleyball: Autumn Cayaditto, Most Improved Player Award; Denyce Mahkewa, Bruin Spirit Award; Alicia Nequatewa, Best All Around Award; Koren Bahe, Ace Server Award; Simone Saufkie, Most Kills Award; and Autumn Cayaditto, Scholar Athlete Award.

Varsity Volleyball: Brooke Namoki, Co-MVP Award; Hayley Keith, Co-MVP Award; Courtney Hayah, Defensive Player Award; Kachina Jenkins, Most Improved Player Award; Canicia Weston, Bruin Award; and Hayley Keith, Scholar Athlete Award.

Spiritline: Mikayla Paul, Most Energetic Award; Candice Lomayaktewa, Outstanding Leadership Award; Lacey Tewanema, Team Spirit Award; Alandrea Chee, Most Improved Award; Aryn Namoki, Dedicated Freshman Award; and Mikayla Paul, Scholar Athlete Award.

Chess: Mary Grace Lawrence-Pewewardy, Leadership Award; Aidan Fredericks, Most Aggressive Award; Sunny Lomayestewa, Most Improved Award; Trisha Puhuyesva, Best Opening Award; Jasmin Morgan, Management Award; Mary Grace Lawrence-Pewewardy, Scholar Athlete Award; and Nicole Lomayaktewa, Scholar Athlete Award.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.