Winslow Bulldogs, other 3A North teams reap post season honors

WINSLOW, Ariz. - Winslow High School and all other schools in the 3A North Region had players selected for the All State, All Region and Senior All Star Teams.

Winslow had two players selected to the Arizona 3A All Conference Team and another to the second unit of that team. There were four Bulldogs on the Al 3A North Region Team with two more getting honorable mention and one senior on the 3A North Region Team which will play on Saturday.

Bulldogs on the 3A All State Team are senior first baseman Jevon Estelle and junior outfielder Vittorio Sells. Junior Matt Smith was selected to the second squad as a utility player. Estelle will play in the Maya 29 All Star Game and both he, Sells and Smith were members of the 3A North All Region Team.

Senior catcher Rhett Hardy was also a member of the All Region Team. Senior pitcher Johnnie Woods and freshman third baseman Colton Corum received regional honorable mention.

Other members of the All State Team included senior catcher Nick Williams of Blue Ridge, junior second baseman Adam Touhey of Florence, junior third baseman Ryan Erazo of Estrella Foothills, junior shortstop Derek Umphres of Safford, senior outfielders Antonio Cordova of Empire and Bradley Van Deinse of Fountain Hills, senior designated hitter Michael DeGroote of Fountain Hills, senior utility player Troy Laparco of Sedona, senior pitch3er Sebastian Kessay of Blue Ridge and sophomore pitcher Zach Miller of Estrella Foothills.

Other second team All State players were senior catcher Trevor MacArthur of Show Low, senior first baseman Troy Carpenter of Show Low, junior second baseman Josh Advocate of River Valley, junior third baseman Ryan Baldanado of Holbrook, senior shortstop Westin; Gibson of Payson, junior outfielder Matt Renfro of River Valley, senior outfielders Lacey Hickson of Window Rock and Tyler Knight of Chino Valley, designated hitter Tanner Maras of River Valley, senior pitcher Mike Shanks of Florence and junior pitcher Cole Piouck of Empire.

Other players on the All 3A North Region Team were Lacey Hickson, Forrest Benally, Taylor Davis, Dominic Dale and Tya Wauneka of Window Rock; Austin Lozano, Caleb Layden and Ryan Baldanado of Holbrook and Redmond Delmar of Monument Valley. Others receiving honorable mention for that team were Jason Begay and Skyler Morgan of Window Rock, Dylan Boscha and Levi Reyes of Holbrook, Stinson Osif and Trevor Shirley of Monument Valley, Wyatt Tee and Jared Slim of Tuba City and Elliott Burris and Jordan Hardy of Ganado.

The 3A North Region Player of the Year was Alan Todachine of Monument Valley. The 3A North Region Coach of the Year was Shawn Deschene of Window Rock who is also the All Star Game coach for the North Region along with Scott Novack of Payson.

Other members of the North Region Senior All Star Team beside Winslow's Estelle are first baseman Austin Lozano of Holbrook, second basemen Shawn Lindsey of Round Valley and Jake Sleeper of Payson, third baseman Jerry Garcia of Chino Valley and Troy Lopacco of Sedona, shortstops Nick Johnson of Blue Ridge and Lacy Hickson of Window Rock, catchers Nick Williams of Blue Ridge and Trevor MacArthur of Show Low. Outfielders are Weston Gibson of Payson, Blake Maestas of Holbrook, and Blake Barker of Sedona, Tyler Knight of Chino Valley, Michael Fritz of Round Valley and Alan Todachine of Monument Valley. Pitchers are Sebastian Kessay of Blue Ridge, Trey Carpenter of Show Low, Logan Morris of Chino Valley and Forrest Benally of Monument Valley.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.