Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Wed, Aug. 12

Students Awarded College Scholarship from NOVA

Submitted Photo<br>
The scholarship recipients, as well as the NOVA team members who selected them.

Submitted Photo<br> The scholarship recipients, as well as the NOVA team members who selected them.

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. - NOVA Corporation, a leading information technology company with offices in Window Rock, Ariz., Albuquerque, N.M., Chambersburg, Pa. and owned by the Navajo Nation, announces 43 students awarded a NOVA Scholarship for $1,000 to help with their higher education. NOVA Corporation awarded a total of $43,000 in scholarships to Navajo students which will be applied to the fall semester of 2011.

"NOVA is honored to award these scholarships to help Navajo students obtain an education," said John Snider, president and chief executive officer of NOVA Corporation. "The goal of our scholarship endowment fund is to help more Navajo students acquire a college education. As the cost of higher education continues to rise, it becomes harder for them to pursue a degree in the fields of computer science, information technology, and engineering."

NOVA Corporation received nearly 100 scholarship applications for the NOVA Scholarship endowment. To be considered for the scholarship, the applicant must have been an enrolled member of the Navajo Nation and able to provide a Certificate of Indian Blood; had a minimum grade point average of 2.0; and be pursuing a college degree in engineering, information technology, business, communications, or computer science. The scholarship was also available to high school students and adults wanting to pursue a higher education.

Those receiving scholarships include Christina Lee of Fountain Inn, S.C.; Rekisha Yazzie, Fruitland, N.M.; Lionel Yellowhair, Glendale, Ariz.; Marcus Tallman, Kayenta, Ariz.; Cherise John, Kirtland, N.M.; Cheryl Nez, Las Cruces, N.M.; Colin Lee, Lupton, Ariz.; Karen Lee, Lupton, Ariz.; Tyler Alex, Mesa, Ariz.; Eric Holtsoi, Mesa, Ariz.; Ramon Scott, Mesa, Ariz.; Elliott Tso, Mesa, Ariz.; Jessica Tso, Mesa, Ariz.; Alec Peters, North Ogden, Utah; Natasha Begay, Page, Ariz.; Payton Jones, Phoenix, Ariz.; Misha Averill, Puyallup, Wash.; Clarita Begishe, Rapid City, S.D.; Malcom Bob, Round Rock, Ariz.; Lynetta Begay, Shiprock, N.M.; Zachariah Brooks, Shiprock, N.M.; Jered Jim, Shiprock, N.M.; Jonathan Crank, St. Michaels, Ariz.; Sandra Howard, Teec Nos Pos, Ariz.; Julius Aguilar, Tempe, Ariz.; Robyn Alex, Tempe, Ariz.; Leon Begay, Tempe, Ariz.; Tanner Begay, Tempe, Ariz.; Michael Martin, Tempe, Ariz.; Letisha Yazzie, Tempe, Ariz.; Jared Fowler, Tucson, Ariz.; Lydell Yazzie, Winslow, Ariz.; Sterling Benally, Albuquerque, N.M.; Calvin Silas, Albuquerque, N.M.; Pamela Smith, Bluff, Utah; Kolena Begay, Cortez, Colo.; Darrah Blackwater, Farmington, N.M.; Chantz Atcitty , Flagstaff, Ariz.; Anthony Davis Jr., Flagstaff, Ariz.; Amelia Fuller, Flagstaff, Ariz.; Clinton Harris, Flagstaff, Ariz.; Alexandra Edison, Fort Defiance, Ariz.; and, Tonowynn Sam, Fort Defiance, Ariz.

For the 2012 NOVA Scholarship endowment for Navajo college students, NOVA Corporation will begin receiving applications on Jan. 1. For more information, application and essay topics, please visit

Report a Typo Contact
Most Read
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event