Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Tue, Oct. 27

Primaries yield few surprises in Coconino, Navajo counties

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. - Despite a lower than anticipated voter turnout, voters across Arizona went to the polls on Tuesday to vote for their respective candidates. According to unofficial results, just over 24 percent (16,216) of registered voters in Coconino County showed up at the polls, well under the estimated 35-40 percent predicted by Coconino County Recorder Candace Owens.

In Navajo County, there were 15,423 voters (about 26.4 percent) who showed up at the polls. Statewide, there was an estimated 25.5 percent voter turnout.

Historically, elections in years where there are no presidential candidates have had low voter turnouts.

In the race for governor, Republican incumbent Jan Brewer fared well in northern Arizona, garnering 6,283 votes in Coconino County and 6,514 in Navajo County while Democratic candidate and former Attorney General Terry Goddard netted 7,034 votes in Coconino County and 5,803 votes in Navajo County.

In the U.S. Senate race, longtime Republican Senator John McCain collected 4,726 votes in Coconino County and 4,047 votes in Navajo County, besting fellow Republican candidate J.D. Hayworth. Democratic candidate Rodney Glassman received 1,723 votes in Coconino County and 1,270 votes in Navajo County. Although Glassman finished second in both counties behind fellow Democrat Cathy Eden, the statewide polls show Glassman leading with over 34 percent of the total votes.

In the U.S. Congressional race, District 1 Representative Ann Kirkpatrick (Democrat) garnered 6,869 votes in Coconino County and 5,886 votes in Navajo County. She will face Republican candidate Paul Gosar in November. Gosar netted a respectable 2,894 votes in Coconino County, but only 989 votes in Navajo County. He was bested there by fellow Republican Russell "Rusty" Bowers.

In other races, Native American candidates fared very well.

In the State Senate race for District 2, Democratic candidate Jack Jackson Jr. came out on top in Coconino County with 2,433 votes, but followed candidate Sylvia Laughter with 1,207 votes in Navajo County. Laughter garnered 1,431 votes in Navajo County and 1,251 votes in Coconino County. Jackson leads the statewide polls with 6,022 votes. Other candidates running for this office included Kee Allen Begay Jr. and Gloria Hale-Showalter.

In the State Representative race for District 2, Tom Chabin finished first in Coconino County with 3,443 votes while fellow Democratic candidate and former Navajo Nation President Albert Hale came out on top in Navajo County with 2,491 votes. Hale garnered 2,348 votes in Coconino County while Chabin finished with 602 votes in Navajo County.

Statewide polls show Hale leading Chabin with 11,203 votes. Other candidates in this race included Pat Carr and Albert Tom.

In the Secretary of State race, Democrat Chris Deschene finished well ahead of fellow Democrat Sam Wercinski with 4,853 votes in Coconino County and 4,859 votes in Navajo County. Wercinski finished with 2,079 votes in Coconino County and 1,291 votes in Navajo County.

For more information on registering to vote in the general election in Coconino County, visit In Navajo County, visit

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event