Winslow cross country begins at Hopi

POLACCA, Ariz. - The Winslow High School cross country teams began the 2009 season on Tuesday at the Hopi Invitational Meet in Polacca. Hopi High usually has one of the best cross country programs of any class in the state and this meet will include many other top teams. The meet is slated to start at 1 p.m.

The Peaks Invitational Meet in Flagstaff on Saturday, Sept. 5 will be another meet filled with top quality teams. Competition is slated to begin at 8 a.m.

Winslow will host its first meet on Wednesday, Sept. 9 with Greyhills, Holbrook, Snowflake and Show Low slated to attend the meet listed to start at 3 p.m.

The Window Rock Invitational on Friday, Sept. 11 should be another event crowded with top quality competition. Starting time for that meet will be announced later.

On Wednesday, Sept. 16, Winslow will host a meet at 3 p.m. against teams from Holbrook, Snowflake and Show Low.

The Four Corners Invitational Meet at Flagstaff will be held on Saturday, Sept. 19 and slated to start at 8:30 a.m. This is yet another meet expected to provide top notch competition.

A series of quality invitationals fill the remainder of the schedule. The Snowflake Invitational is on Wednesday, Sept. 23. The Blue Ridge Invitational is at Pinetop on Saturday, Sept. 26.

Winslow will host its own Dave Conatser Invitational on Friday, Oct. 2. The Coconino Invitational will be in Flagstaff on Saturday, Oct. 10. The Tuba City Invitational will be on Friday, Oct. 16 and the Holbrook Invitational will be on Friday, Oct. 23. Only the Winslow Invitational slated to start at 2:30 p.m. and the Holbrook Invitational set for 12:30 p.m. do not have starting times to be announced later.

The 3A North Regional Meet will be at Chinle on Friday, Oct. 30. The state meet will be on Saturday, Nov. 7 at a place to be announced later. Both of these meets will announce starting times later.

Comments

Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.