Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Fri, Oct. 23

Hopi Chairman, Vice Chairman candidates set

KYKOTSMOVI, Ariz. - Six candidates were certified to run for chairman of the Hopi Tribe by the Oct. 20 deadline, and five candidates qualified to seek the office of vice chairman in the Wednesday, Nov. 4 primary.

Seeking the office of chairman are Tommy A. Canyon, Caleb H. Johnson, Harry Nutumya, Phillip Roy Quochytewa Sr., Leroy Ned Shingoitewa and Clark W. Tenakhongva.

Candidates for vice chairman are Rod Duwala, Herman G. Honanie, Elgean Joshevama, Keith Pahovama Sr. and Leroy Sumatzkuku.

The top two vote-getters for each position will face off in the general election on Wednesday, Nov. 18.

The two offices have been vacant since last December when Ben Nuvamsa resigned as chairman and Todd Honyaoma Sr. resigned as vice chairman.

Presently, the chairman also serves as the chief executive officer of the Hopi Tribe. A reorganization task team headed by Tribal Council member Davis F. Pecusa, is working on a resolution to take away the CEO powers from the chairman and make the CEO a separate job.

This new CEO would answer to the Tribal Council, Pecusa said, which would prevent the chairman from issuing executive orders that bypass the council.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. on both election days. All members of the Hopi Tribe who are at least 18 years old are eligible to vote.

Report a Typo Contact
Most Read
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event