Lady Bulldogs reap regional awards

WINSLOW, Ariz. - The Winslow Lady Bulldogs had the 3A North Region Offensive Player of the Year, six All Region Team members and two Honorable Mention award winners when the 3A North Region Softball Team was announced. The Lady Bulldogs were undefeated in region play for both the season and the tournament and finished as runners-up in the Arizona State 3A Conference Tournament.

Jennifer Yazzie was named the 3A North Region Offensive Player of the Year. Elisse Tapaha of Window Rock was named the 3A North Region Defensive Player of the Year. Monty Flack of Holbrook was named the 3A North Region Coach of the Year.

Gabby Stacy, Felicia Nagle, Melissa Jacobs, Arianna Huerta, Bernice Gover and Mireya Ulibarri of Winslow were named to the 3A North All Region team. Other members included Shereen Begay, Dana Charley and Sierra Davis of Window Rock, Chanelle Williams and Corie Saganitso of Tuba City and Megan Pender and Corina Gillespie of Holbrook.

Honorable Mentions went to Mallory Smith and Mariah Guzman of Winslow, Rietta Wagoner and Kellin Bakurza of Holbrook, Autumn Tsosie-Wood and Rodina Jordan of Window Rock, Serafine Davis and Nizhoni Gamble of Chinle, Shanelle Gillmore and Savannah Begay of Monument Valley, Nicole Yellow and LaShanda Benally of Tuba City and Alyssa Curley and Lynelle Sandoval of Ganado.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.