Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Tue, Feb. 25

Tuba City High School honors athletes at awards banquet

TUBA CITY, Ariz. - The Tuba City High School Athletic Department recognized their top athletes on May 18 at the Warrior Pavilion by the coaches of Tuba City High School.

The Male Athlete of the Year Award went to Justin Daw and the Academic Athlete Award went to Benjamin Wheeler. The Female Athlete of the Year was Corie Saganitso and the Female Academic Athlete Award went to Jessica Tsinnie.

Cross country head coach Carl Perry presented the Boys 3A State Cross Country Championship team who won their 19th state title with their top awards: The Most Valuable Runner awards went to Dennis Klain, Ryan Yazzie, and Billy Orman. The question still to be answered is, "Will we win Number 20?"

Coach Perry replied, "I don't know, but we all know there is a good chance that will happen with many returning runners next year."

The Girls 3A State Runner-up team was led by senior Olivia Flores, who garnished the Most Valuable Runner award. Other top runners were sophomore Tatiyana Johnson who was given the Lead Award, and senior Caitlin Williams received the Spirited Award.

The varsity girls are returning a talented underclassman next year.

First year head coach Evelyn Kiyanni credited her coaches and the players for a fantastic year. They compiled a 30-12 record for the year, won the 3A North Regional Championship, and made it to the final four at state, losing closely to Blue Ridge. The team placed second at the Flagstaff Tournament, third at the Page Invite and defeated the undefeated Mustangs at Regionals during the last game of the year. It was a wonderful ride for the lone senior, Jessica Tsinnie, who was awarded the Inspirational Award for her leadership and inspiration.

"It was my dream to make it all the way," she said, "but it was a heartbreaker when we lost at state. The girls will be back because they work hard."

The force to be reckoned with - Dakota Yazzie - was named the 3A North Player of the Year, and received the Most Valuable Player Award. The offensive player of the year went to junior Loveleen Hurley, and Cherie Hudson was named Defensive Player of the Year. Coach Kiyanni assured her players that they will work hard this summer and make another run.

The chess team recognized Matthew Brodie and Benjamin Wheeler as Co-MVPs. The cheerleading coach, Carlene Honyumptewa, gave Cornelia Coriz the Leadership Award and Jacqueline Lange was given the Most Spirited Award.

The ROTC Marksmanship Team under Sgt. Gunner Shaner won their sixth straight Regional Championship, placed second at Arizona State competition and took second at the West Coast National Competition with 65 teams competing. The top marksmanship award went to Christina Charley with the Most Improved and the Most Valuable Shooter went to Steven Goldtooth.

The Drill Team awards were given to senior Nicolette Attakai for The Unarmed Commander, the Armed Commander was senior Daniel Keams and the Most Valuable went to senior Monty Begay. Kathy Hernandez is the proud coach of the Tuba City High Drill Team.

Junior Steven Goldtooth won the Individual State Champ, third at national Marine Corp. and received the distinguished shooting badge, which is only given to 265 competitors nationally ever.

Head boys basketball coach Ross Williams recognized Bradley Hatathlie as the Defensive Player of the Year, Joshua Begay as a Pure Shooter, and Offensive Player award went to Benjamin Wheeler. The Most Valuable Player was Darin Dugi.

Coach Raylynn McCabe remembers a young freshmen coming to the gym with her older sister with a big cheesy smile. She became a team leader and matured as she grew and Jessica Tsinnie, was awarded the Commitment Award for the Girls Basketball Team. Coach Recter gave the Courageous Award to junior Angel Tacheene. Head coach Tom Bizardi gave the Defensive Player Award to freshmen Jamie Roe and Most Valuable went to Nicole Yellow.

Baseball coach K. Reed, gave out three awards. Most Valuable Player went to Lighton Bill Butler, Offensive Player went to Toby Woody and Defensive Player went to Terrence Haskie.

Softball coach Jonathan Yazzie recognized the 3A North All Regional Girls Softball team: Kale Nelson, Charmain Williams, Corie Saganitso and Honorable Mentions, Nicole Yellow and Shannon Benally. The TCHS Award for Defensive Player was awarded to Nicole Yellow, Offensive Player is Kayle Nelson, Inspirational Player is Ilena Henderson and Most Valuable Player is Charmel Williams.

Track coach John Goatcher named Co-MVPs Ryan Yazzie and Billy Orman and the Leadership Award went to Darnell Phillips, Most Improved Player went to Herschel Lester and Most Valuable Freshmen was Matthew Murray.

Girls Varsity MVP was awarded to Trisha Curley, Most Improved Player to Ashley Franklin and Most Valuable Freshmen to Natalie Franklin.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event