Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Sat, Aug. 15

Winslow Winter Classic All-tournament team awards announced

WINSLOW, Ariz. - The Winslow Winter Classic Tournament has announced the selection of an All Tournament Team and selected Winslow Coach Don Petranovich to receive the Coaches Award for the tournament. His Lady Bulldogs won the Championship Game in dramatic fashion.

The Winter Classic ended with a truly classic battle between two of the best teams in Arizona, the Winslow Lady Bulldogs and the Monument Valley Lady Mustangs. Winslow won the rematch of last season's Arizona State 3A Conference Championship Game. Monument Valley had won that game on a tip-in by Bradley Nash, but lost this time 48-46 with Nash on the bench after fouling out.

Both of those teams had three players on the All Tournament Team.

Winslow was represented by Kourtney Shirley, Felencia Keams and Shernise Ward. Monument Valley All Tournament players were Nash, Destinee Holiday and Chelsea Holiday.

Chinle and Window Rock had two players each on the All Tournament Team. Window Rock had won third place in the Championship Bracket. The Lady Scouts were represented by Ashley Mitchell and Violet Wood. The Chinle Lady Wildcats were represented by Nicole Tsosie and Samantha Pane.

Tuba City, which lost to Window Rock in the game for third place in the bracket, was represented by Jamie Roe. Other players on the All Tournament Team included Chelsea Brumby of Gilbert Perry, Jasmine Taliman of Ganado, Lisha Titus of Snowflake and Nicole Baldwin of Holbrook.

Of the 15 players on the All Tournament Team, 13 are off 3A North Region teams that will compete against each other during the rest of the season. The 3A North Region had the top four teams in the Championship Bracket and only two of the seven teams from the region lost a game to a team from another region. Most of the losses were to teams also from the region.

Report a Typo Contact
Most Read
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event