Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Sat, Sept. 19

Bulldogs Second In Doc Wright Invitational

Marcus Tafoya of Winslow makes it up to the match for first place in the 135-pound division.

Marcus Tafoya of Winslow makes it up to the match for first place in the 135-pound division.

The Winslow Bulldogs wrestling team battled their way to an impressive second place finish in the Doc Wright Invitational Wrestling Meet held in Winslow on Friday and Saturday. The powerful 5A Mesa Jackrabbits won the meet for the fifth straight year with a total of 319 points. Winslow was second with 206, well ahead of third place Holbrook with 153. Gilbert finished fourth with 134 points and Chinle was fifth with 112 points. There were 22 schools entered in the tournament.

The Bulldogs did not have an individual champion, but managed to place 10 wrestlers in the top six of their weight divisions. Mesa had eight wrestlers win championships in their weight divisions; two finish second and one finish third.

Three Bulldogs finished second in their weight divisions. Jonathan Beecroft was second in the 103-pound division. Marcus Tafoya was second in the 135-pound division. Joe Larsen was second in the 189-pound division.

Justin Powell in the 215-pound division was the only Bulldog to finish third in a division.

Three more Winslow wrestlers finished fourth in their divisions. Kirk Ramsey was fourth in the 130-pound division. John Gonzales was fourth in the 152-pound division. George Morgan was fourth in the heavyweight division.

Eddie Montoya finished fifth in the 119-pound division and John Montoya finished fifth in the 140-pound division.

Jacob Hernandez finished sixth in the 145-pound division.

Dillon Baker (125) and Michael Hernandez (160 did not place, but won four of their six matches. Trenton Ervin (103) and Victor Martinez (171) each won one of three matches.

Champions in the Doc Wright Invitational included E. Damian (103), J. Ewing (135), A. Pacheco (140), J. Valdez (145), J. Ordaz (145), M. Ordaz (160), Z. Wadsworth (171), A. Jay (189) and W. Woodury (215 all of Mesa. Other champions included X Gamboa (112) of Snowflake, J. Higgins (119) of Mohave, C. Alvarado (125) of Flagstaff, M. Serna (130) of Holbrook, B. Solomon (152) of Joseph City and N. Wagner (heavyweight) of Chinle.

The Winslow Bulldog wrestling team will entertain the Joseph City Wildcats, a small school power in the sport, tonight (Jan. 17) and enter the Page Invitational Tournament on Friday and Saturday.

Report a Typo Contact
Most Read
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event