Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Tue, Oct. 27

Medallions awarded to Manuelito scholarship recipients

WINDOW ROCK-Navajo Nation Speaker Lawrence T. Morgan (Iyanbito/Pinedale) offered accolades to the 72 Navajo Nation Manuelito Scholarship recipients by awarding academic achievement medallions to each of the young scholars.

Speaker Morgan, Council Delegate Ervin Keeswood Sr. (Tse' Daa K'aan) and other staff from the Speaker's office were on hand to present the academic achievement medallions to this year's Chief Manuelito Scholarship recipients. The event was held July 27 at the Navajo Preparatory School in Farmington, N.M.

"Let [this] medallion ... commemorate your academic hard work and achievements [and] remind [you] to believe in the Navajo Nation and that your future has hope," Speaker Morgan said. "When the scholars wear this medallion with pride, my hope is that they remember that the 21st Navajo Nation Council and the Speaker's Office [for recognizing] each of them and each of their outstanding academic achievements."

The majority of Navajo high school students were from 13 Navajo Nation schools-15 more came from as far away as Massachusetts.

Chief Manuelito scholars include graduates from Window Rock High, Shiprock High, St. Michaels High, Kirtland Central High and Tuba City High.

Requirements for the four-year scholarship include maintaining a 3.0 grade point average throughout the students' four-year college career. The scholarship is $7,000 per year.

Dr. Jennifer Denetdale, a University of New Mexico professor, is scheduled to be this year's Chief Manuelito Scholarship Recognition event keynote speaker. She is the first Navajo to earn a doctorate in history. Denetdale is the author of "Reclaiming Diné History, The Legacies of Navajo Chief Manuelito and Juanita."

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event