Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Sat, Dec. 14

Top B-ball honors for Payne and Gover

Winslow High School basketball coach Charles Gover and senior player Jordan Payne have been selected as the 3A North Region Coach of the Year and Player of the Year respectively at the conclusion of the 2005-2006 season. The Winslow Bulldogs won both the regular season and post season tournament 3A North Region Championships and advanced to the semi-finals of the Arizona State 3A Conference Championship Tournament before being eliminated by eventual state champion Fountain Hills.

Winslow placed three more players on the All 3A North Region Team. Seniors Andrew Taliman and Trevor Cantrell and junior Darwin Nez were selected to the prestigious unit. Other players selected included Window Rock juniors Ryan Edison and Ephraim Sloan, Greyhills seniors Craig Tsingine and LaDaniel Gishie, Monument Valley senior Ryan Manheimer, Tuba City senior Kevin O'Conner, Chinle senior Donovan Begay, Ganado senior Derek Chosa and Hopi junior Renaldo Wartz.

Winslow senior Jonah Budka and junior Mario Sells received Honorable Mention. Other players receiving Honorable Mention included seniors Jeremy Adams and Shown Honanie of Hopi, Harry Yellowhair and Kendrick Thompson of Chinle, Carson Begay and Chris Edaakie of Tuba City, Terryll Yazzie and Taz Chee of Greyhills, Joseph Wilson and Antoine Panther of Ganado, Raymond Blair of Monument Valley, Roland Deschner of Window Rock and junior Darin Pine of Window Rock and sophomore Reggie Todachine of Monument Valley.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event