Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Sun, July 05

Payne named 3A state offensive player of year
7 WHS Bulldogs selected for state 3A teams, 5 receive honorable mentions

<b>Jordan Payne</b>

<b>Jordan Payne</b>

Winslow High School senior quarterback Jordan Payne was selected as the Arizona State 3A Conference Offensive Football Player of the Year.

Five Winslow Bulldogs were selected to either the first offense or defense All 3A Conference Team, while three others were selected to a second offensive or defensive state team and five more received honorable mention.

Winslow players selected to the first team offensive unit included wide receiver Johnny Butler, guard Nick Anderson and center Corey Dean. All three players are seniors. In addition to being the Offensive Player of the Year, Payne was selected to the first team defense as a defensive back. Senior Mario Peralto was selected as a linebacker.

Winslow players selected to the second team offensive unit included running back Mark Armao, tight end Kyle Holland and tackle Clint MacLean. Holland and MacLean are seniors. Armao is a junior. Sophomore Justin Powell was named to the second team defensive unit as an end.

Receiving honorable mention for the offensive unit were running back Dillon DeWitt and guard David Young. Both are juniors.

Receiving honorable mention for the defensive unit were linebacker Nick Anderson, tackle Clint MacLean, linebacker Mark Armao and tackle Corey Dean. Armao is a junior; the others are all seniors.

The All Arizona State 3A Conference Offensive Team includes quarterback Jesse Wheeler of Coolidge, runningback Luke Apfelt of Payson, running back T.J. White of Coolidge, running back Aaron Uthoff of Wickenburg, wide receiver Josh Cleland of Chino Valley, wide receiver Johnny Butler of Winslow, tight end Brad Jackson of Coolidge, tackle Eric Freeman of Coolidge, tackle Tyler Massey of Blue Ridge, guard Nick Anderson of Winslow, center Corey Dean of Winslow and kicker Kyle Day of Sahuarita.

The All Arizona State 3A Conference Defensive Team includes defensive backs Jesse Wheeler and T. J. White of Coolidge and Jordan Payne of Winslow, linebackers Jaime Cassillas of Coolidge, Mario Peralto of Winslow and Weston Petrovich of Blue Ridge, strong safety/linebacker Jeff Alder of Wickenburg, tackles Julius Blair of Coolidge and Aaron Heck of Estrella Foothills, ends Daniel Gherna of Safford and Charles Ellsworth of Blue Ridge, return specialist Frank Parkinson of Blue Ridge and punter Alex Groh of Fountain Hills.

Second unit offensive players included quarterback Carson Begay of Tuba City, running backs Jaime Casillas of Coolidge, Mark Armao of Winslow and H. P. Rollings of Fountain Hills, wide receivers Zack Carpenter and Damar White of Coolidge, tight end Kyle Holland of Winslow, tackles Clint MacLean of Winslow and Tyler Best of Estrella Foothills, guards Dushuan Rushing of Coolidge and Jeff Hurst of Blue Ridge, center Alex Luca of Fountain Hills and kicker Josh Taylor of Round Valley.

Second unit defensive players included defensive backs Justin Gaethje of Safford, Jamal McKinney of Coolidge and Kyle Day of Sahuarita, linebackers Jovante Wagoner of Coolidge, Cash Armstrong of Payson and Travis Trickey of Round Valley, strong safety/linebacker Sirel McRae of Safford, tackles Eric West of Sedona and Preston Walters of Round Valley, ends Lance Bean of Fountain Hills and Justin Powell of Winslow, return specialist Tommy Wyatt of Sedona and kicker Chase Bingham of Round Valley.

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event