Mesa repeats as Doc Wright Champ, four Bulldogs place

The Mesa Jackrabbits successfully defended the Doc Wright Wrestling Invitational title they laid claim to last year with a team victory in the 2004 tournament held on Friday and Saturday. Mesa finished with a total of 213.5 points to 198 for second place Gilbert. Mesa and Gilbert were the only 5A teams represented in the tournament. Prescott, a 4A school, finished third with 189 points. Coconino, another 4A school, was fourth with 171 points. Holbrook had the best total of any 3A school with 168.5 points, good enough for fifth place. St. Johns, a 2A school, was sixth with 117.5. Flagstaff (4A) was seventh with 113. Mogollon was the top 1A school with a total of 103, nipping fellow 1A Joseph City (94 points) for eighth place. Mohave was 10th with 89.5 and Winslow finished 11th with 87 points. The balance of the scoring showed Sinagua with 73, Snowflake 58.5, Window Rock 53, Valley 39, Hopi 28, Chino Valley 27, Ganado 23, Canyon State 22, Many Farms 6 and Pinon 5.

Four Bulldogs placed among the top six wrestlers in their respective weight division. Anthony Martinez finished second in the 137 pound division. Chris Nelson (117) and Adam Reeves (heavyweight) each finished third in their divisions. David Bailon (114) finished fifth in his division.

Adrian Rios (103) of Gilbert was named as the outstanding wrestler in the 105-132 pound class. Chris Freije (154) of Mesa was the outstanding wrestler selection for the 137-162 class. Kyle Hiner (171) of Prescott was selected as the outstanding wrestler in the 173-heavyweight class. All three received Bob Crosswhite Outstanding Wrestler honors.

Among the area wrestlers who performed well were Blake Soloman (first place 137), Andy Brennan (third place 173) and Cory Ektrand (sixth place 147) of Joseph City. Holbrook enjoyed much success with Angel Candelaria (127) winning his division, John Serna (114) and Zach Solu (162) finishing second, Julian Swedberg (137) and Nick Serna (217) finishing third, Carlton Yazzie (heavyweight) finishing fourth, Aaron Swedberg (121) finishing fifth and Matt Serna (142) finishing sixth.

Champions of each weight division included Adrian Rios of Gilbert 105, Brandon Henson of Coconino 114, Bo Mortensen of Snowflake 121, Angel Candelaria of Holbrook 127, Jamie Ison of Gilbert 132, Blake Soloman of Joseph City 137, Casey Woodruff of Gilbert 142, Zenthen Hatcher of Coconino 147, Chris Freije of Mesa 154, Pedro Ballesteros of Mesa 162, Kyle Hiner of Prescott 173, Alberto Montez of Mesa 191, Christian Gonzales of Mesa 217 and Ryan Brown of Gilbert heavyweight.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.