Winslow Little League begins 53rd season with Opening Day Celebration

On Saturday, April 17th, the Winslow Little League welcomed all of its players to Keaton Park to kick off the organizationÕs 52nd season.

SaturdayÕs festivities included introducing the names of all 33 teams participating in this yearÕs season.

The National Anthem was sung by Winslow High School students Leaha Cake and Marcie Wilson, followed by theLittle League Pledge, lead by Little League Board member Tom Chacon.

Tammy Ramsey, President of the Little League Board, presented Bill Elzey with a commemorative plaque and dedicated the season to his honor. Elzey is the long time Arizona District 1 Administrator for the Little League Association.

ElzeyÕs grandson Matthew Elzey threw the first pitch, commemorating the starting of the Little League season. Colton Burch (catcher) caught ElzeyÕs pitch and the crowd went wild.

This yearÕs Little League Board is made up by Ramsey, Valerie Huerta, Darrick Ervin, Ruth Smith, Joe Estudillo, Kerry Pugh, Debbie Brown, Jimmy Johnson, Michelle Cuellar, Myla Bolton, Danelle Martinez, Dawn Palen, Jeff Hancock, Tom Chacon and Sarah Hansen.

Ramsey asks that if anyone is interested in volunteering this season to please get a hold of her or any of the board members and they will be more than glad to put volunteers to work.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.