Softball team begins season Tuesday

The Winslow High School softball team will begin the regular season with a non-conference contest at home against the Camp Verde Lady Cowboys on Tuesday, March 4 at 3:30 p.m. The only action Winslow will see before that is a controlled scrimmage on Feb. 28 at Payson against the Payson Longhorns. That exhibition will begin at 3 p.m.

The Lady Bulldogs will be in Parker on Friday and Saturday, March 7 and 8 to compete in the Parker Invitational Tournament.

Winslow’s next home appearance will be on Tuesday, March 11 at 3:30 p.m. against the Chino Valley Lady Cougars. That will be followed by road games at Snowflake on Wednesday, March 12 at 3:30 p.m.; at Fountain Hills for a double header on Saturday, March 15 at 11 a.m. and 1 p.m.; at Blue Ridge on Tuesday, March 18 at 3:30 p.m. and at Seton Catholic on Saturday, March 22 for a double header at 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. The Lady Bulldogs will host Snowflake at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 2, and then host Tuba City at 3:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 8 for their first 3A North Region contest.

The Lady Bulldogs will participate in the Snowflake Invitational Tournament on Friday and Saturday, April 11 and 12.

Ganado will be in Winslow for another 3A North contest at 3:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 15. The last non-conference game of the season will be played at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 16 at Eagar against the Round Valley Elks.

Winslow will finish its regional schedule with a Thursday, April 17 game at 3 p.m. in Kayenta against Monument Valley; a Tuesday, April 22 contest at Window Rock also slated for a 3 p.m. start, a Thursday, April 24 game in Winslow at 3:30 p.m. with Greyhills; a Friday, April 25 game at 4 p.m. at Holbrook and a Saturday, April 26 game at Winslow with Hopi slated for 11 a.m.

The first round of the regional will be held on April29 and 30 at the homes of the higher seeds. The semi-finals of the 3A North Region will be held in Winslow on May 2 and 3.

The first two rounds of the Arizona State 3A Tournament will be held in Phoenix on May 9 and 10 and the final two rounds will be held in Phoenix on May 16 and 17.

Comments

Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.