County redistricting maps approved by DOJ

Holbrook - The U.S. Department of Justice has raised no objections to the redistricting maps submitted by Navajo County for the five supervisorial districts.

Deputy County Attorney Lance Payette said that the 60-day time period for review and objections to the new districts has lapsed, and the new boundaries will be in effect for the 2004 election.

Payette said the 60-day time period expired in mid-July, and since the county has not heard from the DOJ, it is his opinion that the new districts are a “done deal.” The attorney said the DOJ had requested additional information earlier in the process, but county officials have not heard from federal officials since that time.

According to Payette, the DOJ does not send any final notification that redistricting submissions have been finalized. He said the county’s request for redistricting is “not that big a deal to the DOJ. They get hundreds of submittals from at least 20 states.”

Payette said he checked the DOJ web page, and Navajo County is no longer listed as a pending submission, which means that the redistricting has been approved.

The redistricting proposal was submitted to the Department of Justice March 20.

Redistricting the county supervisoral districts was required following the 2002 Census. Boundary lines were redrawn to provide equal population, within 10 percent, in each of the five districts.

The board of supervisors adopted the redistricting proposal Dec. 3, 2001.

The redistricting shifts Winslow Precincts 4 and 5, and a small portion of Winslow 1 into District II. The portion of Winslow 1 that will be included in District II is that portion that contains Hopi tribal land, specifically the former hat factory property and the Hopi housing complex. That portion of Winslow Precinct 1 will be added to Winslow 5.

District III will encompass Winslow 2 and 3, as well as the incorporated sections of Winslow 1. Snowflake Precincts 1 and 2, Cedar Hills and White Mountain Lake will join Joseph City, Holbrook 1, 2 and 3, and Woodruff in completing the boundaries for District III.

District IV will include Heber/Overgaard, Clay Springs, Pinedale, Taylor 1 and 2, Show Low 1, 2, 3 and 4, and Lakeside 2.

District V will remain basically the same, with the exception of the addition of Lakeside 1.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.