Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Thu, Aug. 05

Regional All Star Teams announced

Boys All- Star Team

The Enchantment Region Boys All-Star Team was announced recently following the regional tournament. Junior Elcaro Lee of Window Rock was selected as the region’s Player of the Year. Richard Beverly of Monument Valley and Charles Gover of Tuba City were selected as Co-coaches of the Year.

The twelve man roster included Troy Watson, Kevin Tallman and Mitchell Emerson of Monument Valley; Josh Allen, James Justice and LaVar Martin of Tuba City; Seth Davis and Bryan Curtis of Winslow; Cody Mueller and Jay Taliman of Ganado; Uriah Yazzie of Greyhills and DeWayne Morgan of Window Rock.

Honorable Mention went to Asa-Ryan Begaye and Augustine Anderson of Window Rock; Lavon Salabye and Nathan Salabye of Ganado; Randy Whitehair and Earlwin Thomas of Pinon; Lloyd Billy, Jr., and Lance Martin of Tuba City; Mario Salabye and LeVaniel Gishie of Greyhills, Micah Yazzie and Brandon Lincoln of Monument Valley and Hesston Yazzie and Manuelito Shirley of Winslow.

Girls All-Star Team

Winslow and Tuba City High Schools each had three girls on the Arizona 3A State Championship All Tournament Team.

Senior Francine McCurtain and juniors Faith Carpenter and Lexine Jensen represent Winslow on the elite squad. Tuba City placed senior Amy North and junior Sharlimar Navaho and Jayme Lomakema on the team.

The balance of the squad included seniors Melissa Jones of Ganado, Lorena Sullivan of Monument Valley, Sadie Tomerlin of Globe and Amber Rice of Chino Valley; junior Grace Tappe of Fountain Hills; and freshman Mary Placido of Seton Catholic.

Donate Report a Typo Contact