Reservation wrestlers make a <br>showing at Doc Wright Invitational

The Doc Wright Invitational Wrestling Tournament was dominated by larger schools as 5A Mesa Dobson claimed the title with 268 points. Second place went to 5A Gilbert with 203 points. Third went to 4A Peoria with 196.5 points. Snowflake was the highest placing 3A team with 151 points, nipping fellow 3A contender Holbrook with 150 points. Host Winslow was a close sixth with 147.5 points.

Joseph City, the lone 1A team in the competition, finished seventh with 112 points, Window Rock (3A) was eighth with 98 points, followed by 3A Tuba City with 72 points, 2A Hopi with 52.5 points, 3A Chino Valley with 48.5 points and 3A Greyhills with six points.

Winslow wrestlers who placed second were Efrem Yazzie (135) and Brandon Mitchell (275). Mike Martinez (130) and Steve Martinez (145) finished third. Finishing fourth were Jeff Murray (103), Jesse Hancock (125) and Kendall Ybarra (152). David Manthei (160) finished fifth. Dustin Taylor (140) finished sixth.

Hopi High School wrestler Tyrone Humehoynewa (112) finished third. Chris Colletata (160) and Cory Honanwaima (275) finished fourth.

Window Rock wrestler Michael Wauneka (275) finished third. Marcus Yazzie (130) and Sean Yazzie (189) finished fourth. Duane Thomas (135) finished fifth. Jarrod Yazzie (119), Caryle Cook (145) and Chase Law (152) finished sixth.

Tuba City wrestler Jerrod Claw (125) finished third. Mike Manygoats (140) finished fourth. Ky Bornhauer (119) finished fifth. Jesse Cardenas (130), Alex Brock (171) and Derrick Nuvayestewa (215) finished sixth.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.