A House Divided

A split Winslow is the end result of the last few months’ task of redistricting.

At their regular meeting held December 3, the Navajo County Board of Supervisors voted 4 -1 to adopt the proposed map known as Smithson 3, with one variation.

The map adopted by the Board of Supervisors keeps Shonto, Kayenta 1 and 2, Chilchinseto, Black Mesa, Forest Lake 1 and 2, Shonto, Hardrocks 1 and 2, Pinon 1,2 and 3, Whippoorwill Springs 1 and 2, and Low Mountain 1 and 2 in District I.

The change to the Smithson 3 map was to move Hard Rocks 3 into District II from District I.

Winslow 4 and 5 were also moved into District II along with Dilkon, Indian Wells, Teesto 1, 2, 3, and 4, Whitecone 1 and 2, Oraibi, Toreva, Polacca, Keams Canyon, Jeddito 1, 2 and 3, and Birdsprings.

Winslow 1, 2, and 3 remained in District III with Joseph City, Holbrook 1, 2, and 3, Sun Valley, Woodruff, Snowflake 1 and 2 and Cedar Hills.

District IV consists of Heber/Overgaard, Taylor 1 and 2, White Mountain Lake, Show Low 1, 2, 3, and 4, Clay Springs, Linden, Pinedale and Lakeside 2.

District V is made up of Lakeside 1, Pinetop 1 and 2, Hondah, Whiteriver and Cibecue.

District 3 Supervisor J. R. DeSpain was the “No” vote in the bunch and stated that he was voting for the betterment of District III.

The Board of Supervisors is now at the hands of the Department of Justice. The map must be cleared by the DOJ before it is put into effect.

If the DOJ refuses the map, the process begins again.

There is a path for protesting the map if it is cleared by the DOJ. At press time it was unclear whether the map will be protested by interested parties.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.