Navajo-Hopi Nations,Flagstaff & Winslow News
Thu, Aug. 06

Thompson loses to De Spain, Hernandez defeats Hatch in primary elections; Justman, Kindig and Neilson win contested seats

J.R. De Spain of Holbrook will move from County Treasurer to member of the Board of Supervisors for District III with his win over Tommy "Tee" Thompson of Winslow by 88 votes in the primary election Sept. 14. Both men are Democrats. There were no Republicans running in the district.

Democrat Manny Hernandez defeated Alex Hatch almost 2-1 to win the Treasurer's post. In the Sheriff's race incumbant Gary Butler was comfortably ahead of his tow opponents. Laurette Justman won the Recorder's position over Debby Adair Kester.

The other incumbant unseated was Carolyn Holliday, Superior Court Judge in Division II, who was defeated by Dale Nielson by 79 votes.

In a tight supervisor's race in Distrcit II, incumbent Jesse Thompson edged out five democratic opponents. In District I Percy Deal held his seat against two rivals, in District IV Rebuplican Lewis Tenny ran unopposed and in District V there will be Republican and Democratic candidates in Nov. Jerry Brownlow (D) got 1023 votes to Larry Vicario's (R) 797.

Report a Typo Contact
Most Read
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event