Ganado Hornets dominate All Region Team selections

Ganado High School dominated the All Region Team Selections by garnering Coach of the Year, Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year honors and having 11 players being selected to the elite unit.

Winslow High School placed five players on the All Enchantment Region Football Team as selected by regional coaches following the end of the regular season.

Russ Semore of Ganado was selected as the Enchantment Region Coach of the Year. Jason Semore of Ganado was selected as the Enchantment Region Player of the Year. Almon Nelson was selected as the regional Offensive Player of the Year. Robert Padilla of Winslow was selected as regional Defensive Player of the Year.

Other Ganado High School selections included senior quarterback Chris Semore, senior tight end Cody Mueller, senior split end Travis Johnson, junior offensive guard Kasey Bluehouse, senior center Sean Nez, senior defensive linemen Sterling Cornfield, Jesse Becenti and Marlando Puente and senior defensive back Richardo Montano.

Sophomore Aaron Araza and junior Lavon Salabye were given Honorable Mention.

Other Winslow High School selections included sophomore offensive tackle Brandon Mitchell, junior kicker Brandon Nazario, senior linebacker David Manthei, and senior defensive backs Michael Martinez and Shawn Mead. Seniors, Dub Ward and Kendal Ybarra were given Honorable Mention.

Tuba City High selections were senior runningback Josh Allan, senior offensive tackle Ryan Zhonnie, senior linebacker Jason Yazzie and senior defensive back Michael Tallsalt. Senior Roy Dallas and junior Daniel Bradley were given Honorable Mention.

Window Rock High School selections were sophomore runningback Mike Bitahy, sophomore offensive guard Chad Dixon, senior defensive lineman Augustine Anderson and senior linebacker Chase Law. Sophomores Bryan Smith and Kyle Anderson were given Honorable Mention.

Monument Valley High School had sophomore runningback Lane Gilmore selected. Senior Benedick Parish and junior Sankey Reid were given Honorable mention.

Greyhills Academy had junior linebacker Roman McCabe selected. Junior Craig Poorthunder and senior Jeremy Tullie were given Honorable Mention.

Pinon High School had seniors David Lee and Derrick Haskan given Honorable Mention.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.