Havasupai tribe holds elections

SUPAI-The Havasupai Tribe conducted their elections for executive officers and the tribal council on Monday, Dec. 24, 2007.

Don Watahomigie was selected as chairman, Mathew Putesoy was selected as vice-chairman, and four members were elected as tribal council representatives. The term of these seats was one year until the Havasupai tribe amended their constitution three years ago, thus making it two year terms.

Election results

In the race for Chairman, Don E. Watahomigie won with 124 votes; Carletta Tilousi came in second with 94 votes.

In the race for Vice-Chairman, Matthew Putesoy Sr. won with 143 votes; Bernadine Jones came in second with 71 votes.

The following individuals won seats on the tribal council: Agnes Chamberlain with 93 votes; Eva Kissoon with 151 votes; Rex Tilousi with 91 votes, and Dianna Sue Uqualla with 90 votes.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.